Skip to main content


Membership of the Empirical Legal Research Network is open to anyone in the University of Edinburgh (academic staff, early career researchers and PhD candidates) with an interest in empirical research which touches on law, regulation and the legal process in their broadest sense.

Old College quad

Currently, the ELRN has over 50 members, which include scholars in the School of Law, School of Social and Political Science, and the Usher Institute (Edinburgh Medical School). If you are interested in joining the ELRN, please contact Dr Sanja Badanjak.

Current ELRN Steering Committee Members (2019-20 academic year)

Dr Sanja Badanjak - Convenor (Edinburgh Law School)

Dr Andy Aydın-Aitchison (Edinburgh Law School)

Dr Sarah-Jane Cooper-Knock (School of Social and Political Science)

Dr Edward Dove - (Edinburgh Law School)

Dr Smita Kheria (Edinburgh Law School)

Dr Nayha Sethi (Edinburgh Medical School)

Ms Franscesca Soliman (Edinburgh Law School)

Past ELRN Steering Committee Members (2009 - 2018)

Professor Mike Adler (School of Social and Political Science)

Professor Rustam Al-Shahi Salman (School of Medicine)

Professor Sharon Cowan (Edinburgh Law School)

Dr Liz Elliot (School of Biological Sciences)

Professor Anne Griffiths (Edinburgh Law School)

Dr Shawn Harmon - Previous ELRN Co-Convenor (Edinburgh Law School)

Professor Toby Kelly (School of Social and Political Science)

Dr Smita Kheria - Previous ELRN Co-Convenor (Edinburgh Law School)

Professor Lesley McAra - Previous ELRN Convenor (Edinburgh Law School)

Professor Susan McVie (Edinburgh Law School)

Professor Burkhard Schafer (Edinburgh Law School)