Skip to main content

About the Edinburgh Centre for Constitutional Law

The Edinburgh Centre for Constitutional Law (ECCL) provides a focal point for staff and postgraduate research students working in all areas of Scots and UK public law, Commonwealth and comparative constitutional law, human rights law, environmental law and climate change law, democratisation and transitional constitutionalism, and constitutional theory. Our members undertake research and teaching in all these areas, as well as providing expertise to institutions outside academia in the UK and beyond.

Myanmar Plaza

The Centre also co-hosts several academic and knowledge exchange networks, including the Scottish Public Law Discussion Group and the Keith Forum on Commonwealth Constitutionalism.


Who we are

The Centre has a wide membership within the University of Edinburgh and beyond. Our core members are the following:

Dr Asanga Welikala, Director

Dr Elisenda Casanas Adam, Associate Director

Dr Tom Gerald Daly, Associate Director

Professor Stephen Tierney, Founder Director

Mr Peter Reid, Centre Secretary

Mr Pravar Petkar, Centre Secretary

Professor Neil Walker

Professor Christine Bell

Mr Navraj Singh Ghaleigh

Dr Cormac Mac Amhlaigh

Dr Harshan Kumarasingham

Dr Kathryn Nash

Dr Sanja Badanjak