Skip to main content

Law School professors and alumna elected to the Royal Society of Edinburgh

Tue 21 March 2023


Professor Nehal Bhuta, Chair of Public International Law, Professor Sharon Cowan, Professor of Feminist and Queer Legal Studies and Edinburgh Law School graduate Karina McTeague, co-founder of the Edinburgh Foundation for Women in Law and who serves on the Advancement Advisory board, have been elected to join the Royal Society of Edinburgh (RSE).

The RSE is Scotland’s National Academy which was established in 1783 for ‘the advancement of learning and useful knowledge’ and provides independent expert advice to policymakers as well as inspiring the next generation of innovative thinkers.

Professors Bhuta and Cowan, and Ms McTeague are part of the 91 Fellows representing sciences, arts, business, sport, civil society and academia who were elected to join this year.

They join 1,800 Fellows who are recognised as being some of the greatest thinkers, researchers and practitioners in their field working in or with organisations in Scotland today.

Professor Bhuta said: “It’s wonderful to be elected as a Fellow to the Royal Society of Edinburgh along with so many other accomplished academics. I look forward to contributing to the RSE, providing advice, and hopefully inspiring a new generation of innovative researchers and academics.”