Student success at the European Law Moot Court

Edinburgh Law School team excels at international mooting competition

Two teams of Edinburgh Law School students recently competed in the regional finals of the European Law Moot Court.

The European Law Moot Court is an annual international competition held between teams of students who have an interest in European Union law. Since its launch in 1988, it has become the most prestigious moot court competition in its field.

Every year, around 100 teams submit written pleadings, which are marked anonymously. The best 48 teams get through to the oral rounds and compete in one of four regional finals held in Europe. The winners of each regional final then compete in the European final, hosted by the Court of Justice of the EU in Luxembourg.

Our entrants this year were highly successful. Two teams represented the Law School in the regional finals in Belgrade and Lucerne.

The team competing in Belgrade consisted of Lei Zhang, Maria Buchner and Hannah Roeingh, all LLM students at Edinburgh Law School. Maria Buchner proceeded to the second day, where she narrowly missed winning Best Commission Representative.

The Belgrade team 

They even featured on Serbian National Television, and you can watch their appearance here.

The Lucerne team performed very well, though they unfortunately they didn't make it to the next round. The team consisted of Allison Clozel, Franziska Dickmann and Daire McMullin. 

The Lucerne team

Edinburgh Law School is delighted to be part of this wonderful series of events and we are particularly looking forward to hosting the last of the regional finals between 1-3 March.

Well done to all of our participants - you have made us very proud!