Edinburgh Law School is proud to have staff, students and visitors from a wide variety of backgrounds, and we strive to ensure we meet the needs of our community.

The Equality Act 2010 came into force on 01 October 2010 and merged nine existing pieces of legislation. The Equality Act 2010 brought legal protection for people within the nine protected characteristics described in the act. Discrimination towards people in any of these nine protected groups is unlawful. These protected characteristics are:

Age: Information and advice relating to age
Disability: Student and staff policies relating to disability
Gender reassignment: University-wide information, and external publications, relating to trans equality
Marriage and Civil Partnership: Information relating to marriage and civil partnership
Pregnancy and maternity (and paternity/family): Family leave policies
Race: Information relating to race equality initiatives and events
Religion and belief: Resources and networks
Sex: University-wide initiatives
Sexual Orientation: University Staff Pride Network and Edinburgh University Student Association Resources LGBT+ Liberation Group